Image - Metrolink

Metrolink is truly a united effort, made possible by the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro), the Orange County Transportation Authority, the Riverside County Transportation Commission, San Bernardino Associated Governments and the Ventura County Transportation Commission. In 1991, the Southern California Regional Rail Authority (SCRRA), a Joint Powers Authority (JPA), consisting of the five county transportation planning agencies listed above, was formed to develop a regional transit service to reduce the congestion on highways and improve mobility throughout the Southern California region. In October 1992, Metrolink was born.

Today, in its 15th year of operation, Metrolink continues to provide the people of Southern California a safe, reliable and environmentally friendly commute option. What began with three lines of service, 12 stations and a little over 5,000 passengers has grown to seven lines, 56 stations and 45,000 passengers.

Mission Statement

Metrolink is a premier regional rail system, including commuter and other passenger services, linking communities to employment and activity centers. Metrolink provides reliable transportation and mobility for the region, leading toward more livable communities

Metrolink is committed to and characterized by:

Javascript is required to view this map.


700 South Flower Street, Suite 2600
Los Angeles, CA 90017
United States

(213) 452-0200
(213) 452-0429

'Metrolink' similar transit . . .
  • Metro is unique among the nation's transportation agencies.

  • Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) is part of a regional solution to transportation, and is working across the region with transit partners and planning agencies.

  • Virginia Railway Express, a joint project of the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission and the Potomac and Rappahannock Transportation Commission, will provide safe, cost-effective, accessible,

  • The Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (VTA) began as a County department created by the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors on June 6, 1972 to oversee the region’s transportation system.

  • On February 18, 1964, the Pennsylvania General Assembly established the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA) to provide public transit services for Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Mont

  • The Chicago Transit Authority (CTA) operates the nation's second largest public transportation system. On an average weekday 1.7 million rides are taken on CTA.

  • Port Authority of Allegheny County was created by legislation enacted by the Pennsylvania General Assembly in 1956, giving it responsibility for planning and developing port facilities to serve the Pi