The European Joint Aviation Authorities

Image - The European Joint Aviation Authorities

The Joint Aviation Authorities (JAA) is an associated body of the European Civil Aviation Conference (ECAC) representing the civil aviation regulatory authorities of a number of European States who have agreed to co-operate in developing and implementing common safety regulatory standards and procedures. This co-operation is intended to provide high and consistent standards of safety and a "level playing field" for competition in Europe. Much emphasis is also placed on harmonising the JAA regulations with those of the USA.

The JAA Membership is based on signing the "JAA Arrangements" document originally signed by the then current Member States in Cyprus in 1990.

The JAA's work began in 1970 (when it was known as the Joint Airworthiness Authorities). Originally its objectives were only to produce common certification codes for large aeroplanes and for engines. This was in order to meet the needs of European Industry and particularly for products manufactured by international consortia (e.g. Airbus). Since 1987 its work has been extended to operations, maintenance, licensing and certification/design standards for all classes of aircraft. With the adoption of the Regulation (EC) No 1592/2002 by the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union (EU) and the subsequent set up of the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) a new regulatory framework was created in European aviation.

According to this Regulation, for EU Member States national regulation in the airworthiness domain has been replaced by EU Regulation and certification tasks have been transferred from National Authorities to EASA, Non EU States maintain their responsibility in all fields.

Javascript is required to view this map.


The European Joint Aviation Authorities
Ottoplatz 1, Cologne D-50679

+49 (0)221 89990 1350
+49 (0)221 89990 1550 / 9550

Those who visit 'The European Joint Aviation Authorities' also found interest in following Government organization . . .
  • The Irish Aviation Authority (IAA) is a commercial state-sponsored company which was established on 1 January 1994 to provide air navigation services in Irish-controlled airspace, and to regulate safe

  • Founded in 1955 as an intergovernmental organisation, the European Civil Aviation Conference seeks to harmonise civil aviation policies and practices amongst its Member States and, at the same time, p

  • In 1931 the country callsign prefix for Romanian aircrafts is set by the CV group of letters and, since 1932 these letters have changed into YR.

  • Civil Aviation Department (CAD), the Maldivian aviation regulator, established on 10 November 1982, aims to develop and administer policies and regulations to ensure safe, secure, orderly and economic

  • The Danish Civil Aviation Administration (CAA-DK) is a government enterprise under the Ministry of Transport & Energy.

  • ACI is the only worldwide professional association of airport operators.

  • Enac - the Italian Civil Aviation Authority - was established on 25th July 1997 by Legislative Decree no.250/97 as the National Authority committed to oversee the technical regulation, the surveillanc